British Children Won’t Know What Real Scientists Are

Posted: January 15, 2013 by tallbloke in alarmism, Forecasting, government, humour, Incompetence, media, Natural Variation, Politics, propaganda

Originally posted on Real Science:

After being lied to by government scientists all their life, children will grow up to believe that science is just another form of government extortion, or an extension of the mafia.

ScreenHunter_157 Jan. 14 16.00

UK weather: London wakes up to snow as forecast warns big freeze will last a week | Mail Online

View original

Comments
  1. oldbrew says:

    At least one real scientist is still in business…

  2. Roger Andrews says:

    I don’t remember all that much about the blizzard of 1947 because I was only five years old at the time, but one thing I do remember is the schoolmistress saying “Oh, let them go out and play. We hardly see snow any more.”

  3. tallbloke says:

    And 63 years later, history repeated itself with the sudden return of real winters to the UK.
    I spoke to an old war veteran in a few years ago who was snowed in at his parents farm near Haworth in 1947 – in JUNE!

  4. Roger Andrews says:

    Apart from 1947 and 1963 I can recollect only a handful of serious snowfalls during my formative years in UK – one in 1948 or 1949 when my father took me tobogganing on ‘Ampstead ‘Eath, another in the mid-1950s when we had a snowball fight in the school playground and another in North Wales around 1961 when my wife-to-be and I trudged eight miles through a foot of snow to catch a train. Maybe my memory plays me false, but it seems to me that the UK got a lot less snow back in those days than it does now.

    And talking of memory playing us old geezers false, I think your war veteran may have had the month wrong. According to the CET records the average temp in June 1947 was 15.5C, about a degree C warmer than average. Overall the summer of 1947 was the warmest since 1846.

    [Reply] Might have been June ’48 after the winter of ’47.

  5. oldbrew says:

    The first half of the winter of 81/82 had an average temp. of 0.1C (in the CET records) it says here. Balmoral had snow on the ground for 56 consecutive days.

    http://www.weatheronline.co.uk/reports/philip-eden/Record-cold-and-snow.htm

  6. I was born in 1942, lived on Tyneside from 45-61, spent most Christmases there 62-78. My memory is of lots of snow each winter and generally White Christmases. I still don’t believe it’s Christmas until it snows, so have tended to miss out since I accidentally emigrated to Australia in 1979.