Happy landing in Malaga

Posted: February 25, 2012 by Rog Tallbloke in atmosphere, weather

We had a nice easy flight from Leeds to Malaga. Our accom in the old university hall of residence is great, and very central. After checking in we had a stroll round. The streets are still crowded at midnight. Everyone is out for the first warm saturday night of 2012.

image

 

We found a good small cafe bar and ate some delicious seafood. The prawns came in the strongest garlic and oil marinade ever (sorry Harold, but it’s true). The local wine was strong too.  :)

image

 

Tomorrow we travel east.

Comments
  1. Anything is possible says:

    Pay me a suitable sum of money (we can negotiate), and I’ll happily assume responsibility for the extra carbon footprint you and your good lady created by taking that flight. That should enable you to enjoy your holiday with a clear conscience……

    Seriously, have a great (and thoroughly well-earned) holiday….

  2. tallbloke says:

    AiP, can I offset against the heating fuel we would have used at home?

  3. Anything is possible says:

    Heating fuel?? Way too mild in the UK right now for heating fuel.

    Absolutely not!

  4. mkelly says:

    I envy you being in Malaga. I have been there several times with the USNavy years ago. I always thought that Malaga had the prettiest girls in the Med. I was there the year the airplane ran off the runway in the 80′s.

    Enjoy. I love Spain. Have some paella de mare.

  5. wayne says:

    Roger, both you and Kath, enjoy! You both sure deserve the break after your unwelcomed ordeal. We won’t leave it in too much of disarray. I just wish my boss, me, would let me take a vacation in Spain! ;-)

  6. TG McCoy says:

    Warm? what is warm? showing snowing hard and 30F here in NE Oregon….
    Love to see Malaga -wife’s been there…

    [ cough, I assume that was a typo --mod]

  7. Bob_FJ says:

    Tallbloke,
    Have a great time; I’ve donated 100UKP (Oz $152) to help finance your consumption of the local fizzy stuff where those corks go pop, in a hard to resist way.

  8. Brian H says:

    Be careful! You know that your brain in Spain goes mainly down the drain.
    >;p

  9. I hate to top you but the city of Medellin, Colombia is glorious right now with temperatures around 20 Centigrade; wonderful food and probably the best looking women outside of a beach near Ipanema. I tried to send a picture of the magical sunset here but my computer choked on the large file.

    Please note that I know Malaga very well as my mother had an apartment there. Fine though it is, Medellin is much more impressive.

  10. TG McCoy says:

    Typo..jeesh– got -to- get-new- trifocals..

  11. tallbloke says:

    Bob, that’s a very kind gesture, and more than compensates recent hassles. I’ll be able to treat Kath to an extra hotel night -much appreciated.

  12. AusieDan says:

    Have a great, safe time.

  13. Vuk says:

    To the AlCazaba I went up by the lift and walked back, you as a keen walker could do the other way around. If Mrs tb or you are modern art followers the Casa Natal, the birthplace of Pablo Picasso, its worth a visit.

  14. Anything is possible says:

    It would seem congratulations are in order :

    http://twitter.com/#!/Bloggies

    Way to go TB!!!!!

  15. Mark Bofill says:

    Congratulations TallBloke! Once they raid your computers the sky’s the limit! :) Well done.

  16. dp says:

    Congrats on your great win, TallBloke. Well deserved!

  17. tchannon says:

    I was about to ask for help. Just tried to access an old Facebook account, works, nothing there but I don’t understand the place. Twitter, no access. None have web pages nor RSS feeds nor email.

  18. Markus Fitzhenry. says:

    Congratulations Roger Tattersall.

    http://twitter.com/#!/Bloggies

  19. Chris M says:

    Heartiest congrats and best wishes tallbloke! It’s a just reward for your commitment to truth in science.