Bloggies 2016. The end.

Posted: February 7, 2016 by tchannon in Blog

bloggies-2014-dThere will be no Bloggies this year, an era ends, life changes.
2001 .. 2015 is good going.

The Weblog Awards

After 15 years, I have decided to bring the Weblog Awards to a close. Visitor participation has declined to the point where there just aren’t enough nominees to form a broad enough spectrum of competition.

Thanks to all of those who supported the Bloggies in one way or another. I’m proud we were able to create such a notable ceremony without advertising or corporate sponsorship.

I congratulate all the winners of the past fifteen years and look forward to seeing how blogs will evolve in the future.

Nikolai Nolan

http://bloggi.es

I agree with NIkolai’s analysis, there has to be “critical mass” for a group to hang together, a lesson I learnt 20 to 30 years ago.

In discussion groups there is a sweet point where discussion takes place freely, copious. Too many people is also death, unmanageable.

Nikolai also suggested the nature of blogs has changed. Has it?

I was pleased last year when Roger decided to leave the field open, let Paul Homewood have a free reign. We didn’t know this was the last time, his winning was fitting. How he keeps on going is a mystery.

Last couple of years I got the impression the Bloggie finalists contained an uncomfortable number of commercial adverti-blogs. When is a blog a blog?

Post by Tim,

This is an experimental or test blog article being written on a tablet from a bluetooth keyboard and punted up to WordPress via a radio link. Roger has helped make this possible.

Comments
  1. tallbloke says:

    Well done Tim, glad to see you’ve beaten the technology into submissive cooperation.
    Sad to lose the Bloggies though, it was always good fun.

  2. tchannon says:

    Oh yes, we get there, eventually. (posting from PC)

    I’d meant to say the Bloggies were a spot of irrelevant fun too.

  3. Scute says:

    Tim

    Shame about the bloggies. Your wifi tech experiment didn’t cause any glitches for me reading it. I just thought I’d give that feedback because I’m on a smartphone and I know WordPress can cause minor glitches for smartphones accessing my blog (formatting issues and sometimes stretching photos).

  4. catweazle666 says:

    RIP…

  5. E.M.Smith says:

    I’m “on the road” with a tablet, tablet sized bluetooth keyboard, and WiFi and have found that painful enough to have done little posting (cut and paste being the most painful, sans mouse and using “gestures”…) Add in the time sucking spelling prediction as you type (that screws up my touch typing) and the package just doesn’t cut it for me.

    You are a brave and patient person…

  6. tchannon says:

    Needs must.
    Sorting this out was not so easy. Part done in preparation, the rest from an isolation room in hospital, can’t go out, can’t take delivery, broken WiFi. Tied down with drips, pumps, young ladies. All precautionary, with a sound reason.

    I managed to deduce a likely “safe” keyboard choice, done without proper access to the web. Could see who stocked this, who didn’t, a few opinions. The missus bought one for me and carried it in.
    Win some, knew this the moment I picked up the box, is heavy, keyboards are heavy, otherwise they move.
    Logitech K380.
    This paired via bluetooth without problem, can handle 3 devices. Ordinary battery (2x aaa), supposed to do 2 years.
    To make a point I am replying via the tablet and said keyboard.

    Another trick, WordPress Android works, was good enough to produce the article. In addition it adds notifications, your comment was flagged, and with a reply facility.
    Tablet is in landscape mode, perfectly legible. The on-screen keyboard is an annoyance, size minimised.
    Some of this might differ from experiences with older android, V6 here. Has added permission controls, can curtail on need to know.
    I was surprised to find OpenOffice has been ported.

  7. Scute says:

    Tim
    I thumb type on an iPhone. I find it easier than a tablet sliding around on my lap. I know others can’t deal with it especially if they have so so near vision. It tires their eyes even with reading glasses. I have the phone in a rubber case that makes it very comfortable in my hands as I type. There’s also an app for using the phone just as a keyboard while the text comes up on a desktop, (or presumably a device of your choice). I haven’t used it though.

    I even post blog posts from the phone, including pictures, using the WordPress app but that is actually a bit fraught. Typing in-app is slooow so I write it in a document then paste to WordPress. Pics insert easily from the phone photo file though.

  8. tchannon says:

    I think may well be the case Scute if there is no table, I probably wouldn’t try without a flat area. Eyes, yup.

    Most of the time I hope to be up ‘ere with a proper computer, rotten keyboard though.

Leave a Reply

