@rogtallbloke locked out of Twitter after a few telling tweets

Posted: June 21, 2016 by tallbloke in Accountability, Big Brother, Blog, censorship, Politics, solar system dynamics

twitter-censored

Twitter tells me there has been “unusual activity on my account” and to “click on the reset link in the email we’ve sent you”. No emailed password reset link has been forthcoming. I think the “unusual activity” excuse is a bit lame. See my recent tweets in the left column. I think I’m right over the target, but Twitter have now locked the bomb bay doors.

I’ll let the late Peter Shore MP do the talking for me. Four minutes of truth that reverberate through the years.

Comments
  1. Steve C says:

    You’re lucky your name isn’t Farage. (Anti)Social media providers seem to be freely permitting a thousand and one flavours of hatred aimed in his direction, whatever fluffy nonsense they may claim about “preventing hate speech”. See:
    http://www.breitbart.com/london/2016/06/20/shoot-and-stab-nigel-farage-hundreds-of-social-media-messages-urging-attacks-on-ukip-leader-revealed/

    Sickening.

  2. tallbloke says:

    Twitter’s behaviour has been becoming more and more erratic, arbitrary and censorious since their major Saudi investor came aboard. I’ll look for a more ethical IM style social media platform I think.

    WordPress is exemplary for blogging, I have nothing but praise for their owners Automattic.

  3. Brett Keane says:

    An increase in nastiness, maybe. Excellent twitter posts. I have just been banned one year on NZ’s National radio station blog. For showing how their ‘smokestack pictures’ are frauds. Long struggle through tribunals to come…Oh well, the cooling deep water flows may have them desperate. If they even know about such.

  4. Robin Heath says:

    All the nastiness has blurred what the EU vote is truly about. Peter Shore’s 70s speech proves to be a timely and powerful antidote to all the confusion and obfuscation and many thanks for including it in your blog. Have we anyone today at Westminster who can deliver such an oratory?

  5. Andrew says:

    Saw you next to Boris on the bus. Bet that was an experience. Something to add to the autobiography.

    Twitter certainly does seem to have developed a heavy hand when it suits. All the best for Thursday.

  6. catweazle666 says:

    I’m always very wary of “unusual activity on your account” and to “click on the reset link in the email we’ve sent you” emails, over the years I’ve had hundreds, many purporting to be from from Apple, Amazon, PayPal and other fairly respectable organisations.

    They are always totally spurious phishing attempts, and I invariably ignore them.

    Get your email client to show the full header details, inspect in particular for mis-spellings, the use of “0” instead of “O” and interesting domain suffixes.

  7. tallbloke says:

    Andrew, thanks,
    Yes, Eva from the Dutch TV crew pointed me to some video of the York event. I grabbed this still of Boris and me.

  8. Ken Mitchell says:

    “Twitter tells me there has been “unusual activity on my account” and to “click on the reset link in the email we’ve sent you”.”

    Clear phishing attempt. Your mail program probably truncated the “link” as malware, and that was certainly the right course. As catweazle666 says, I get these every day or so, often from banks that I don’t have any accounts with – or from eBay and PayPal, which I _also_ don’t have any accounts with.

    I tell you three times; NEVER EVER click on a link in an email unless you KNOW where the link leads. Too many of these are malware, and these days, often one of the Cryptolocker clones.

  9. tallbloke says:

    Guys, the original notification was on twitter itself, as below.

    Anyway, the password reset email showed up about an hour ago, so I’m back.🙂

  10. Ken Mitchell says:

    Good to hear. But these days, it’s very wise to be paranoid about phishing attempts; there are too many of them and they are getting better.

  11. E.M.Smith says:

    Noticed your tweet per Soros. Here’s my take on what he’s likely doing. IMHO, of course.

    https://chiefio.wordpress.com/2016/06/21/is-soros-talking-his-own-book/

  12. tallbloke says:

    Dead right EM, he’ll short the pound to fulfill his prophecy and buy back in later. I’m ahead of the game.

  13. E.M.Smith says:

    Per the phishing and account locking and such:

    I have been using a Rasberry Pi model 2 as my major station for about a year now. The Pi 3 is even faster. The 2 is just fast enough to be usable. At $35 that is a big deal.

    It lets you swap systems by swapping SD cards at about $5 each.

    This means I can have a dedicated chip for email client. Should malware lock it, I just reflash it from the copy on my backup system. Since no other files are on that system, they get nothing.

    IFF I need to send a file or attachment, a copy put on a thumb drive gets it to the email system.

    Putting this firebreak between email service and everthing else you do is a great security enhancer.

    Oh, and since it is running Linux, all the malware aimed at MSWindows boxes fails anyway…

    You can get a similar result by using a “live CD” Linux, like Puppy Linux, on your existing PC. It lets you save session data to usb. So boot it to read mail, or boot Windows for non-internet things…

    A whole new level of security opens up with dedicated system images and airgap isolation… Over 95% of the time, 95%+ of my files are on a TB scale USB drive that is not plugged in. Very secure… Only my working set is live, on a USB thumb drive. IF you don’t need it attached right now, don’t attach it. IF it doesn’t need to be internet connected right now, don’t connect it. Have private side and separate public side systems. Then browse in peace and sleep well at night😉

  14. E.M.Smith says: June 21, 2016 at 6:48 pm –

    A very good idea.

    I have never understood why public utilities and some commercial companies connect their corporate systems to the internet.

    If you have an online sales such as Amazon does, then your front facing web servers need only to be connected to your corporate databases via simple serial lines that physically can not handle anything other than order numbers, confirmations and the like.

  15. skeptic Tom Nelson tweeted this happened to him four times in the last month

  16. gallopingcamel says:

    IMHO twitter, facebook and similar social media are worthless. I guess that makes me a dinosaur.

Leave a Reply

