Scott Adams on global warming

Posted: December 9, 2016 by tchannon in ideology, Uncertainty

Tim wrote

Scott Adams (of Dilbert fame) has an article up

The Non-Expert Problem and Climate Change Science

Before I start, let me say as clearly as possible that I agree with the scientific consensus on climate change. If science says something is true – according to most scientists, and consistent with the scientific method – I accept their verdict.

So when I say I agree with the scientific consensus on climate change, I’m endorsing the scientific consensus for the same reason I endorsed Hillary Clinton for the first part of the election – as a strategy to protect myself. I endorse the scientific consensus on climate change to protect my career and reputation. To do otherwise would be dumb, at least in my situation.

Scott also writes

This perceptual change in humanity is happening as I predicted it would a year before Trump won. I told you he would change more than politics.

http://blog.dilbert.com/post/154082416051/the-non-expert-problem-and-climate-change-science

What he writes is fun, realistic.

Enjoy.

Post by Tim

Comments
  1. gallopingcamel says:

    Scott Adams impresses me almost as much as Douglas Adams who wrote the “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”.

    Many a true word spoken in jest……….these guys have a better grasp on reality than most people.

    Scott Adams points out that some people imagine that Trump will be another Hitler while others imagine that he will restore integrity to our institutions. Each person has his own ideas about the way the future will be affected by Donald Trump.

    Scott sees the future like a series of different movies but very few will approximate to reality. My movie imagines that Trump will run the country like a businessman so he won’t be inclined to invest in anything that will not deliver more benefits than costs.

    “Mitigating Carbon” has an immense cost and no plausible benefit so I expect it to receive no support from the Trump administration. The prominence of Myron Ebell and Scott Pruitt in relation to the EPA suggest this organization will be dismantled in short order.

  2. tchannon says:

    In jest is so true, where sometimes this is across the on-the-line to accusation or statement, trying not to get sued. The emperor has indeed no clothes but who has the guts to make a pratt of him, jest is one removed.

    I find Adams’ voicing of the divide, his knowing how it is very telling: one side always social assertion vs. the other pointing at no clothes.

Leave a Reply

