Smile if you are a climate sceptic

Posted: June 23, 2010 by tallbloke in solar system dynamics

There is a buzz going round the sceptical blogosphere about a paper published by NAS which links to supplementary material carrying  a blacklist of sceptical scientists. One of the co-authors is one Stephen Schneider, the well known propagandist and alarmist.

There was a comment in response that maybe we’d end up wearing yellow badges. Anthony Watts responded saying:

“As for yellow badges, here’s what I’d like to see all skeptics wear. Maybe somebody can come up with a theme variation specific to climate skeptics.”

I like the smiley badge idea. Maybe we could make it specific to sceptics by making the mouth into a question mark.

Kind of asking the question and blowing a raspberry at the same time.

Stoaty has helped me with my idea and come up with this:

scepticsmile

We could get badges made in each country and put them on ebay, profits to sceptical blogs tip jars. I can get 500 2″ buttons made here for £110

Good idea?

UPDATE: Anthony Watts has started a competition here:
http://wattsupwiththat.com/2010/06/28/badges-the-we-dont-need-no-stinking-badges-contest

Comments
  1. P.G. Sharrow says:

    I would rather the human global climate change people be marked so people could see how few they actually are. pg

  2. tallbloke says:

    Heh, fair point P.G. I was thinking of it more as a fundraiser to help keep the blogs going, now that the big oil money has dried up. I haven’t had my check from B.P. since their well blew. 😉

  3. Tenuc says:

    The ‘blacklist of sceptical scientists’ is another sign that sceptics are slowly winning the battle, I think. Remember that only a couple of years back the CAGW cabal were claiming a solid scientific consensus – a position they have been forced to retract.

    Here’s a list of “750 Peer-Reviewed Papers Supporting Scepticism of “Man-Made” Global Warming Alarm.”

    http://www.populartechnology.net/2009/10/peer-reviewed-papers-supporting.html

    Only 450 papers a few months ago!

    Not to sure about badges, but a T shirt using your logo with an inverted ? for a nose and a suitable slogan could be a real sales grabber I think 😉

  4. tallbloke says:

    Aha, constructive criticism, thanks.

    For the T shirts, I’m planning a different graphic with suitable slogan. If I can raise some money with the badges, I’ll donate some and re-invest some in getting them made. Thing is, you have to get a decent number of shirts to get the unit price down to a sensible level. Start small, think big….

  5. S, Weasel says:

    Or you can go the Print on Demand route. You don’t make much money, but you don’t have to worry about sizes and warehousing and colors and shipping and all that junk. Spreadshirt.com is the closest PoD I could find (it’s German. I would rather have used a British firm, but I couldn’t find the equivalent).

  6. […] Holle: U.S. Tornado action successfully predictedSome thoughts about the solar system barycentreSmile if you are a climate scepticTop Flight ex NASA Astronauts and Engineers plea to directorateWelcome to Solar Maximum and a […]