Swedish government spending millions encouraging eating insects

Posted: April 29, 2016 by oldbrew in government, ideology
Tags:

Insect pizza anyone? [image credit: RFE/RL]

Insect pizza anyone? [image credit: RFE/RL]


It seems nothing – not even a ‘barbecued grasshopper burger’ – is too absurd to promote if it can somehow be related to imaginary climate problems, as Breitbart explains. The Swedes claim it’s the “climate smart” diet.

The Swedish government is showing their commitment to green principles and fighting climate change by spending tax payer money on developing ‘meat’ made out of crickets and mealworms.

Vinnova, the Swedish government agency that distributes money for research and development, spending some 2.7 billion kronor (£230 million) a year has announced its latest tranche of funding for creating a greener, more sustainable future — by weaning Europe off meat. It is hoped people will want to eat a so-called “climate smart” diet instead, reports FriaTider.

Green activists and the United Nations are behind such political initiatives as ‘Meat Free Mondays’ — a gateway to full vegetarianism — which are based on the premise that meat consumption is driving man-made climate change. Another method to reduce that so-called burden on the earth is replacing meat protein with that harvested from insects instead.

To that end, Vinnova is awarding half a million kronor each to fifteen different projects across the country, each of which tasked with creating an “edible prototype” of a new food.Among the mouth-watering projects being funded are an attempt to produce a “good and healthy product from mealworms which are fed on vegetable food scraps to become a climate friendly source of protein”, “food prototypes” made from “refined mealworms”, and mincemeat made out of “climate smart insects” such as crickets.

Other enticing [?] offerings not involving insects include “climate-fungal protein”, a “healthy vegetarian barbecue” made from by-products” and “fibrous raw materials”, and a “blue cheese-like product” made from beans.

Full report: Government Spending Millions Encouraging Eating Insects

Comments
  1. oldbrew says:

    HopperWhopper and Fries please 😉

  2. craigm350 says:

    OB – so you want flies with that? 😉

  3. oldbrew says:

    No thanks, I prefer grass on my hopper 🙂

  4. linneamogren says:

    Now we are not just known for the Swedish bikini team but also Mac Crickets!

  5. Oldmank says:

    oldbrew, your suggested menu “bbed HopperWhoppers” were always known as a delicacy, from biblical times. What we like or dislike is many times a psychological fixation. And as I learnt from an old acquaintance, the real money spinner were not the standard garden produce but slimey snail that ravaged them.

  6. linneamogren says:

    Sweden has some wild claims like 300 people died over 30 years due to climate change. Of course you never get a name only that they purportedly died due to heat waves. Not sure how eating insects stood that heat waves?? That report is also connected to the Globe Humanitarian Forum, led by Kofi Annan where he claims the death of 300,000 people per year due to AGW. Of course it was Annan who oversaw the largest scandal in human history the Oil for Food scam of which his son profited.

  7. E.M.Smith says:

    I don’t care what it is, if tastes good, I’ll eat it; AND if not, I won’t.

    Leg of lamb tastes good.
    Beef tastes good.
    Chicken innards (heart, liver, gizzards) in gravy tastes good.
    Shrimp head sushi tastes ok, but bits of shell stick in my teath.

    I expect bugs to stick in the teeth too, so I’ll pass…

    Grubs and worms? I think they are best used as fish bait… Fish tastes really good.

  8. Joe Public says:

    The Chinese will, apparently, eat anything with legs. Except a table.

  9. Adam Gallon says:

    The Chinese will eat anything that flies, walks, crawls or swims! Made for an interesting visit to Hong Kong, for my vegetarian sister!

  10. oldbrew says:

    They need a slogan like: ‘Fight climate change — eat a moth!’

    Or maybe not 😦

  11. Derek Colman says:

    I fear it is actully part of a more sinister plot. I really don’t want to believe the New World Order conspiracy theory, but ever more things are happening that only make sense in that context. You did not include the drve to increase veganism which is already causing an increase in cases of vegan malnutrition. Famously, Angelina Jolie was a victim and was on a journey to death before she saw the light. There does seem to be a drive towards controlling the diet of the masses with a lot of money and propaganda behind it. Is this really coincidence?

  12. tallbloke says:

    Great thread!

    Craig -LoL.

  13. tomo says:

    And nobody’s mentioned the Swedish chef !

    oops…

  14. tomo says:

    Edible fly paper?

    – think of it as Swedish Baklava

    – coming to an Ikea near you.

  15. Verity Jones says:

    Don’t knock it ’til you try it. I got to try insect-based food twice last year and would actively seek it out now. It tasted really good, and I’m a meat lover.

    I had deep-fried mealworms and crickets as a starter at an Asian restaurant in Germany. It was out of curiosity – I’m not squeamish and I’d heard from friends that it was good. I was expecting the ‘bits of shell’ crunchy and not in a nice way, but couldn’t have been more wrong. The ‘shell’ of the crickets sort of dissolved on eating – like tempura batter. Insects have a high fat content and this, with a sort of creamy, nutty taste, was pleasant to eat. It’s supposed to be healthy fat too (not that I worry about that). My only disappointment was that I ended up having to let my companions try it, when I wanted to eat it all myself.

    Hating the “do it for the climate” angle, but if it tastes good I’m happy to add to my diet for a more varied repertoire, but not so that I substitute for meat. I did try jellyfish cooked by a Chinese friend once – and never want to try again. That was like eating crunchy rubber bands.

    Loving all the jokes above btw.

  16. michael hart says:

    I see an opportunity for a new BBC Master Chef series. Global Warming and Cooking will press almost all of their buttons.

  17. michael hart says:

    I’d be quite happy to eat a cow that had been fed on insects. And I can also wear the cow’s skin on my feet afterwards.

  18. Oldmank says:

    The ” mealworms and crickets” bit did not ring a bell first time but now i remember. I saw both bred in trays on table left-overs and other garden cleanings. The reason: food for nestlings for a variety of song birds.

    It now seems that the birds always knew something we did not — or have forgotten. Being a queasy type at the site of the assorted things on a butcher’s table, I think maybe humans (some?) as a species were not the choosiest when it came to foraging.

    Those who may have read the book ‘King rat’ heard about cockroach soup (and its source).